Cloaked in Courage by Beth Anderson; Anne Lambelet (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2022-11-15
The remarkable story of Deborah Sampson, a woman who fought in the American Revolution disguised as a man--and who ends up finding her true identity and purpose in life.
Deborah Sampson didn't like being told what to do, especially by the King of England. Fiercely independent, 18-year-old Deborah enlists as Robert Shurtliff in George Washington's Continental Army to fight for her country's independence. But being a soldier is hard, dangerous work. Can she fight for her country and keep her identity a secret? Can she also discover who she really is and find her true purpose? This unbelievable story from American history about a woman with a rebel spirit will inspire and enlighten young readers.
1,000 Facts about Space by Dean Regas
Publication Date: 2022-12-06
Did you know ... that one of Saturn's moons is so hollow it would float in water? That the largest known star is 3.69 billion times bigger than our sun? Or that Jupiter likely has diamonds floating in its clouds?
Explore dazzling facts about the vast expanse of space, from glowing stars billions of light-years away to supermassive exploding supernovas to rockets thundering into the unknown. This comprehensive book takes you on a mind-blowing tour of our unbelievable universe and is full of fascinating facts on topics such as space exploration, our solar system and galaxy, and beyond.
Expert astronomer Dean Regas--former host of PBS's Star Gazers and astronomer of the Cincinnati Observatory--takes you on an incredible tour of facts about each planet in our solar system, dwarf planets, our sun and other stars, exoplanets, comets, asteroids, galaxies, space travel, and so much more. Hundreds of stunning photographs bring the facts to life.
The Last Plastic Straw by Dee Romito; Ziyue Chen (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2023-02-21
From reeds used by ancient Sumerians to bendy straws in World War II hospitals, people have changed the straw to fit their needs for 5000 years. Today however, this useful tool is contributing to the plastic problem polluting our oceans. Once again, the simple straw needs a reinvention.
With bright illustrations and well-researched text, children can read about the inventors behind the straw's technological advancements, including primary sources like patents, as well as how disposable plastic harms the environment. See the newest solutions, from plastic straw alternatives to activism by real kids like Milo Cress who started the Be Straw Free campaign when he was 11 years old.
Learn about what kids can do to reduce plastic waste. The backmatter includes more information on the movement to stop plastic waste, action items kids can do, a bibliography, and additional resources on plastic pollution.
Our World in Pictures the History Book by DK
Publication Date: 2023-05-02
From ancient history to modern times, journey through the past with this picture-packed encyclopedia of curiosities.
A museum in a book, this collection of treasures from the past brings history to life, from Stone-Age tools to smartphones. Children will love to explore galleries of intriguing objects from ancient civilizations, bygone eras, and breakthrough moments, to understand how the modern world has been influenced by the past.
With more than 1,000 extraordinary images of items big and small, kids aged 9-12 will love poring over the pages of Our World in Pictures: The History Book. Glimpse the treasures of the past on every page and learn the fascinating stories of those who came before us!
Timelines of Everything by DK
Publication Date: 2023-07-04
From dinosaurs and Vikings to the history of robots and espionage, discover incredible world history in this lavish collection of timelines.
Jam-packed with surprising facts and amazing details, such as the most bloodthirsty pirate of all time and the first crime to be solved by studying fingerprints, Timelines of Everything will take you on a whirlwind journey through an illustrated history of time, from the Big Bang to the modern world.
More than 120 timelines will provide children with all the general knowledge they need - and even some surprising trivia they don't! Must-know topics and alternative history are showcased with beautiful, detailed illustrations and straightforward, easy-to-read text. With timelines on a diverse range of subjects, Timelines of Everything is the ultimate guide to history for kids. Available on SORA.
The Universe in You by Jason Chin
Publication Date: 2022-12-13
In Your Place in the Universe, Jason Chin zoomed outward, from our planet, solar system, and galaxy to the outer reaches of the observable universe. Now, Chin reverses course, zooming in past our skin to our cells, molecules, and atoms, all the way down to particles so small we can't yet even measure them.
Like its companion, The Universe in You is a mind-boggling adventure that makes complex science accessible and enjoyable to readers of any age.
Impeccably researched, wholly engrossing, and with extensive backmatter for additional learning, The Universe in You is another knockout from the award-winning creator of Redwoods, Grand Canyon, and other distinguished works of nonfiction for young readers.
We Are Starlings by Robert Furrow; Donna Jo Napoli; Marc Martin (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2023-05-09
Sweeping, diving, twisting, turning. To look up at a murmuration of starlings is an experience like no other. Hundreds, thousands, and sometimes millions of starlings fly together as one flock. The group ripples, whirls, and waves as each bird stays close to its neighbors in a harmonious synchronicity of movement.
The story is told from the point of view of the flock, which gives the reader an inside look at what is happening, and the breathtaking illustrations perfectly capture the ebb and flow of a murmuration. Young readers will witness and fully appreciate the extraordinary communication and collaboration abilities of these birds and may be able to apply these lessons to their own lives.
The Big Book of LEGO Facts by Simon Hugo
Publication Date: 2023-05-02
Find out everything you ever wanted to know about bricks and minifigures with stacks of LEGOⓇ facts!
Did you know that 68,000 LEGOⓇ pieces are created every minute? Or that The LEGO Group is one of the biggest manufacturers of tires in the world? This must-have guide for LEGO fans of every age is crammed full of fascinating LEGO trivia. From the first brick to the latest record-breaking build, discover everything there is to know about the LEGO world.
Brothers in Arms by Susan Hood; Jamie Green (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2022-10-04
Wojtek was just an orphaned bear cub (yes, an actual wild bear!) when a group of teenaged Polish soldiers, many of whom were orphans themselves, took him into their ranks during World War ll. Wojtek quickly became a beloved and important member of the Polish II Corps. Together with his brothers in arms, Wojtek helped his friends turn the tide of World War II.
Listen to the Language of the Trees by Tera Kelley; Marie Hermansson (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Readers will discover that trees have their own social network, and helping one another thrive is trending. The fascinating mycorrhizal fungi network runs underground through the forest via the roots of trees, allowing for connection and communication. Listen to the Language of the Trees captures the magic of talking trees that take care of their neighbors (not to mention the mysterious fungi that help them do it). A lyrical read aloud, Listen to the Language of the Trees is the story of a seedling, newly sprouted at the base of a giant tree. As it stretches its roots into an underground web of fungi, it learns that its fellow trees use the fungi to pass messages and share resources! It will take great luck for this tiny seedling to survive, but it will have help from its friends in the forest. The Douglas fir forest also harbors creatures like a zany Yellow Pine chipmunk gathering and forgetting seed cones, an owl nested in the giant tree, and chattering Steller's jays. And, as we must never forget, no part of the forest is entirely free from danger! Available on SORA.
Working Boats by Tom Crestodina
Publication Date: 2022-10-25
Filled with full-page spreads of cross sections of ten intriguing working boats, this book provides a glimpse into their inner workings, as well as highlights of each boat's unique engineering components that enable it to do the job it was built for.
Want to know what goes on behind the scenes of a Coast Guard rescue, what it's like to work on a science research vessel, or what's involved in crabbing? The book includes illustrated details about each boat's mission and jobs people do on board, as well as a glimpse of what life is like on a working boat.
Packed with information that's fun and practical, the book also includes details about maritime instruments, such as how a radar works, on-water safety gear, diesel engines, and mechanics, such as how water is pumped through a fire boat.