Skip to Main Content

Nutmeg Books for Lower School - Intermediate 2024: Home

Nutmeg Book Award

Each year, ten titles of excellent quality literature are chosen by a committee of librarians and student readers. Students in Connecticut read the titles and vote for their favorites.  If you would like additional information about the Nutmeg Award and the titles we will be reading, check out the website at Nutmeg Children's Book Award.

All books nominated for the Nutmeg Intermediate, Middle School, and High School Awards must be

  • works of fiction, with appeal for readers in grades 4-6 or 7-8 or 9-12;

  • must be copyrighted in the United States within the five (5) years preceding and including the year of the award;

  • currently in print, and available in paperback;

  • well-written, with strong characterization, vivid setting, striking language, a well-constructed plot, and plausible conclusion.

Nutmeg Award


Nutmeg Book Award Intermediate Flyer 2023