7th Grade - The American Story: Early Republic (1789 - 1825)

Republican Campaigns: A Historical Collection offers a digital library of over 120 historical items—books, images, articles—on presidential campaigns from the earliest days of the Grand Old Party to the splitting of Theodore Roosevelt’s Bull Moose faction in 1912. With this Anthology, political junkies, American history buffs and anyone curious about how campaigns were conducted prior to the 24-hour news cycle can view a rich selection of campaign pamphlets, transcripts of great speeches, party handbooks and more early Republican campaign materials like never before.

This guide combines links to the major online collections of Jefferson's writings that have been made accessible by U.Va., as well as by other institutions. It also provides links to online collections of Jefferson's quotations and other information resources about Jefferson like bibliographies.

Deals with whether the Supreme Court has the power of Judicial Review.

How does the U.S. Supreme Court create its particular look of authority? Find out by exploring some of the objects and architecture that define it visually.

Primary source document of Louisiana Purchase

Source: worldatlas.com

Journey with the Corps of Discovery on this informative Web site.

Many images and resouces on the expedition.

Created by the Missouri Historical Society to celebrate the bicentennial of the Lewis & Clark Expedition.

Subtitle: Naval Operations Including Diplomatic Background from 1785-1801.
PDFs available for volumes I-VI.

From the National Archives, personal papers and documents from 6 major founders of the United States, including the Madison Papers. Search for keywords "Barbary" or "Tripoli" and limit dates.

The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. (serachable)

“The Master of Life has appointed this place for us to light our fires, and here we shall remain.”
— Tecumseh (Shawnee)

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the War of 1812, including manuscripts, broadsides, pictures, and government documents. This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the War of 1812 that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site.

General website on the subject with link connections to other sites

Companion site to the PBS documentary about the War of 1812.

War of 1812 from the Canadian perspective

Weapon descriptions, ship descriptions and additional links.

Interested in visiting a War of 1812 heritage site? Click on the links below to find out more about the role that these heritage sites played during the War of 1812. You will also find several museums with War of 1812 collections.

Daily updates on what was happening 200 years ago

When considering the War of 1812, many Americans focus on the U.S. Navy's stirring victories over the Royal Navy in frigate duels. The British, however, emerged from the conflict with total command of the oceans and broad experience in blockade and amphibious operations.

The War of 1812 was fought over the Merchant Marine. The British were seizing American ships on the high seas, and forcing seamen to join the British navy or merchant navy. In addition, Britain seized vessels bound for Europe that did not first call at a British port. France retaliated, confiscating vessels if they had first stopped in Britain. Together they seized nearly 1,500 American vessels between 1803 and 1812.

Birthplace of the National Anthem

The original Star-Spangled Banner, the flag that inspired Francis Scott Key to write the song that would become our national anthem, is among the most treasured artifacts in the collections of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History in Washington, D.C.

The Military Society of the War of 1812 was formed 03 January 1826 by officers of the War of 1812 to press for pensions and bounty land legislation.

Kentucky participants and personalities

Archive footage from the Westinghouse Electric & Manufacturing Company plant in Pennsylvania, 1904. (Library of Congress)

Intended as a teachers' guide, the Library of Congress has assembled a list of primary sources relating to the American Industrial Revolution.

"Work and workplaces have gone through enormous transformations between the mid 19th and late 20th centuries. You can view these changes through photographs held by the National Archives and Records Administration."

An "online textbook" of American history created in 2008 by the Independence Hall Association of Philadelphia. Beginning with Chapter 22, you will find many useful sections on the Industrial Revolution and its impact.

This industrial spy became the father of the American factory system.

Listen to an Audio.

Use Lyddie Libguide to find information about Lowell Girls and the Mills.

The Overland Trail: An Official Millennium Trail

A sampling of the major written works of the Great Triumvirate: Senators Henry Clay, Daniel Webster, and John C. Calhoun
(from: U.S. Military Academy Library at West Point)

4 Lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities