The Revolutionary Era (1745 - 1790) - 7th Grade - The American Story

Chapter 5 Crisis in the Colonies (1745 - 1775)

The Road to Revolution Game: From the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
America During the Age of Revolution Timeline From The Library of Congress
Stories from the Revolution: From the National Park Service
The American Revolution: From the British Library
ABC CLIO Multiproduct Home Page
Search all ABC CLIO resources at once
Background and Details This site offers a clear explanation of the events leading to the war, its causes and outcome. Helpful maps are French and English territory are included.
MILESTONES: 1750–1775 1750–1775: Diplomatic Struggles in the Colonial Period
From the US Department of State - Office of the Historian

The French and Indian War

A Brief History of The French & Indian War Offers an explanation of the war, and a summary of the conflict.
The French and Indian War 1754-63 info
France in America France in America is a bilingual, multi-format English-French digital library that tells the story of the French presence in America and the interactions between the French and American peoples from the early 16th to the late 19th centuries.
more...less...
from: Library of Congress and the National Library of France
French and Indian War via Shmoop
French and Indian War via Mr. Nussbaum
Maps of the French and Indian War Massachusetts Historical Society

Turmoil Over Taxation

Stamp Act - History.com
Stamp Act - Primary Documents from Edsel Ford Memorial Library - The Hotchkiss School
Townshend Acts, 1767 - Primary Documents from Edsel Ford Memorial Library - The Hotchkiss School
Mercy Otis Warren (painting from Museum of Fine Arts, Boston)
Mercy Otis Warren (from Massachusetts Historical Society)
Mercy Otis Warren Biography
Mercy Otis Warren (Mass Moments)
Samuel Adams
Samuel Adams
Samuel Adams Biography

Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death - Patrick Henry
Origin of the Committees of Correspondence
From the Massachusetts Historical Society

The Boston Massacre (includes Primary Documents)

The Massachusetts Historical Society (and supporting primary documents)
America's Story: Boston Massacre
Crispus Attucks This site from WGBH Boston - PBS.org. focuses on the role of blacks in the Massacre and the event's impact on blacks
John Adams
Captain Thomas Preston
Boston Massacre Trials: 1770 - The Soldiers' Trial
Captain Preston's account of the Boston Massacre March 5 1770
Anonymous account of the Boston Massacre March 5 1770
HistoryWiz - The Boston Massacre Contains information on the trial and eyewitness accounts, and also a photo of a print from Paul Revere's famous engraving.
The Boston Massacre Historical Society If you click on the links at the top of this site, you can find information about the Massacre and trial. It is the official site of the Boston Massacre Historical Society. Note: There are ads on this site.
The Pamphlet War and the Boston Massacre
The Coming of Independence: Boston Massacre
Includes video
The Boston Massacre, 1770 The British Perspective
Famous American Trials . Boston Massacre Trials 1770
Biblioboard Database
A Short Narrative of the Horrid Massacre in Boston
more...less...
To use BiblioBoard off-campus, please log-on and create an account while at school.

From Protest to Revolution

The Tea Act
Parliament passes the Tea Act (from History.com: On this day in History)
Boston Tea Party Historical Society
Reactions to Coercive (Intolerable) Acts
The Boston Tea Party on History.com
The BBC's Things We Forgot to Remember: The Real Boston Tea Party of 1773 The BBC Radio's programmimng and website provide a vast array of information available in various mediums. This particular broadcast, one out of four total episodes, is yet another great contemporary resource for research into the Boston Tea Party as it covers it both with a modern take and a British sentiment. At 30 minutes each, the episodes discuss the factors that lead up to the protest, the consequences that followed and all the details in between which make history so interesting.
more...less...
The real boston tea party, 1773 [Web series episode]. (2011). In Portillo, M. (Executive Producer),History: Things we forgot to remember. British Broadcasting Company.

Primary Sources

Table of Contents
for George Washington's Speeches and Letters

Chapter 6 The American Revolution (1775 - 1783)

The American Revolution: Explore the Revolutionary Period
From: National Park Service
Includes: Timeline of Events, Revolution Day by Day,Revolutionary Stories, Revolutionary People,
and Revolutionary Links.
Impact of Revolution on Other Nations
American Revolution (PBS)
Digital History: Using New Technologies to Enhance Teaching and Research University of Houston's digital history
National Park Service: American Revolutionary War
Societal Impacts of the American Revolution
The American Revolution
1754-1774: Making a Revolution videos and simulations from HippoCampus.org HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge.
Freedom: A History of Us Exhibition from the Gilder Lehrman Institute
View documents online and watch as curators describe key documents related to the American Revolution.

America's Historical Newspapers
Database

Fighting Begins in the North

Congress adopts Olive Branch Petition
On History.com
Olive Branch Petition
Creating a Continental Army
from: Library of Congress
Washington takes command of Continental Army in 1775 from: U.S. Army Center of Military History

Loyalists
Provides a wealth of detail on those American colonists who remained loyal to England and King George III--and the regiments of volunteers they raised to fight with the British against their patriot neighbors.
more...less...
Online Institute for Advanced Loyalist Studies
Joseph Gallaway's Speech to the Continental Congress, Sept. 28, 1774 A primary source that explains the loyalists' argument.
The Loyalists
Revolutionary War: The Home Front A Loyalist Tract, November 28, n.d.

The Colonies Declare Independence

Common Sense - Thomas Paine
Creating the Declaration of Independence (from The Library of Congress)
Creating the Declaration of Independence (Interactive from Library of Congress) Connect particular phrases and ideas set down in the Declaration of Independence with texts that preceded it.
Declaration of Independence (from the National Archives)

Struggles in the Middle States

Battle of Long Island
Long Island Patriots and Their Stories
New York in the Revolution as colony and state Book written in 1898 (From New York State Military Museum)
Borgoyne's Plan (National Park Service)
British plan to isolate New England - January 28, 1777 from: History.com
Battle of Trenton from Trenton Historical Society
Battle of Saratoga from: History.com
The Battle of Saratoga
Battle of Saratoga - Hessian Account
The Battles of Saratoga: Battles at Freeman's Farm and Bemis Heights
Historic Valley Forge
The Valley Forge Report The “Valley Forge Report,” completed in the early 1980s, provides the most comprehensive documentation available of the activities, struggles, and achievements of the people who served at Valley Forge in 1777-78.

Fighting for Liberty on Many Fronts

Women of the American Revolution
from: AmericanRevolution.ORG
Women in Military Service
Women in the American Revolution National Park Service
Deborah Sampson
Newspaper article about Deborah Sampson, 1784 A newspaper article talking about Deborah Sampson after the war. She held performances, in which she told about her experiences during the Revolutionary War as Robert Shirtliffe.

Distinguished Women - Deborah Sampson
Deborah Samson from: AmericanRevolution.ORG
Deborah Samson Canton Massachusetts Historical Society
Deborah Sampson: Our Nation's First Woman Soldier
The Revolutionary War Service of Deborah Sampson Gannett
The American Revolution and Sybil Ludington
Sybil Ludington: Historic Patterson, New York
Sybil Ludington: Women Soldiers, Spies and Patriots of the American Revolution (Go to p.68)

Africans in America: The Revolutionary War (PBS)
Salem Poor (NPS.org)
African Americans In The Revolutionary Period National Park Service
Barzillai Lew University of Massachusetts Library
Biography: James Armistead Lafayette
Peter Salem American National Biography
Brave and Gallant Soldiers: African Americans and the Continental Army
African American Experience (hint: "Control F" to find an individual person)
Native American Indians and the American Revolution from: National Park Service
Native Americans and the American Revolution HistoryWiz
Joseph Brant
John Paul Jones
A NAVAL HISTORY OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION by GARDNER W. ALLEN
Naval Documents of the American Revolution
American Revolution 1775-1783 From: Naval History and Heritage Command

Winning the War in the South

Benedict Arnold
Benedict Arnold - A Man without a Country on biography.com Video and information
Benedict Arnold (on Mr. Nussbaum's site)
Benedict Arnold (on History.org)
Benedict Arnold commits treason
The Surrender of Cornwalis (from: Constitution Society)
Ebenezer Denny 1781 describing the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown
The Battle of Cowpens 1781 Americans against the British and loyalist Americans.
The Battle of the Cowpens
National Park Service Website
Battle of Yorktown - Military History
Yorktown Campaign - Mount Vernon Archives
British Surrender at Yorktown, 1781
Treaty of Paris (Primary Documents in American History) From: Library of Congress
MILESTONES: 1750–1775 Treaty of Paris, 1763

Chapter 7 Creating a Republic (1776 - 1790)

Comparison of Constitution and Articles of Confederation

The New Nation 1783 - 1815 (from Library of Congress)
Ben's Guide to Government for Kids
This government site has kid friendly information about the Constitution, Bill of Rights and other historical documents. You can also find out about the 3 branches of government outlined in the Constitution.
Constitutional Trivia Quiz
Exploring Constitutional Law
This site explores some of the great issues and controversies that surround our Nation's founding document.
BILL OF RIGHTS GOLF!

A Loose Confederation

The First Constitution ~ The Articles of Confederation (From The National Archives)

Articles of Confederation November 15, 1777 ( from Teaching American History)
Primary Documents in American History
From: Library of Congress
Noah Webster History

Every child in America should be acquainted with his own country. He should read books that furnish him with ideas that will be useful to him in life and practice. As soon as he opens his lips, he should rehearse the history of his own country.”

― Noah Webster